Protecting Your Driver’s License After A DUI Charge

No one needs to tell you that the loss of your Illinois driver's license can have a terrible impact on your life. You know better than anyone else how important it is for you to be able to get to work, pick up your kids from school and perform other vital activities.

When your driving privileges are in danger because of a drunk driving charge, turn to Hollingshead & Dudley. Our DUI/DWI defense attorney represents clients in Monroe County, St. Clair County, Madison County, Macoupin County and the surrounding areas of Illinois. Call 618-372-6172 for a free consultation about your situation.

Our lawyer is available to assist you with the following matters, among many others:

  • Driver's license suspensions for allegedly driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Restricted driving permits (RDP) or hardship licenses
  • Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) requirements
  • Driver's license reinstatement hearings before the secretary of state
  • Alcohol evaluations and treatment options

Timing Is Key, So Don't Wait To Get Started

If law enforcement finds that your BAC is .08 percent or higher, or if you refuse to submit to testing, your license will be suspended. However, you will have 45 days to continue driving before that license suspension goes into effect. You have a right to request a hearing to fight the suspension during that 45-day period. If you win the hearing, you won't have to lose your driving privileges at all.

If the 45-day period has already passed and the license suspension has gone into effect, don't give up hope. You can still request a hearing within 90 days of the alleged violation. The important thing to remember, though, is that you do have strict time limits, so getting an attorney involved right away is always best.

Are You From Out Of State, Or Did You Get A DUI In Another State?

We frequently represent out-of-state drivers who have been charged with DUI in Illinois. We also represent many Illinois residents who are charged with drunk driving in other states.

Depending on your situation, you may not need to return to the state in which you were charged. We may be able to handle all the details by mail, phone or fax.

Request A Free Consultation Now

Call Hollingshead & Dudley at 618-372-6172 or email our St. Louis, Missouri, office to talk with our DUI defense attorney right away. The sooner you contact us, the sooner we can start working to get you back behind the wheel.

Se habla español